Fatigue Limit #115

Bike racer from 1885 (Chicago Tribune)

Mr. Reddle’s racing career focuses on short track races, but he said he relishes the challenge of a six-day. “I prefer struggles requiring total submission to the task at hand. The military toughens a man.” Mr. Reddle is built more like a wrestler than a cyclist, with thick legs and arms. He says equestrian training caused his bowleggedness. He proffers no kind words for the safety. “Nothing beats riding high on an ordinary, looking down on everybody. It boosts morale.”

Brian Cross is new to bike racing and entered the all-comers category. He is familiar with six-day events as a runner. The tall, lanky competitor said he wanted a new challenge, so he started competing only six months ago. “Mr. Hayden saw me racing and invited me to enter.” With blue eyes and blond hair, he hails from Scandinavia. “In Norway long-distance running and cycling are popular sports.” He said his father helped foster his athletic career by taking him to foot races. Norwegians gave him the moniker “Holy Roller” for always quoting the Bible. “I will finish this ultimate challenge, God willing.”

Gary Mandrel is the odds-on favorite with cyclists in Northern California because they know all about his recent victories. At age twenty, he is the youngest among the men. Mr. Mandrel looks like an elite athlete, impressive chest, thin waist, and strong legs. He believes his abilities are “God given,” and not the result of working harder than others. “I’m not one to over-train.” This is Mr. Mandrel’s first multi-day competition, but he said he is ready. “I will give my best effort on this new safety. I think I can win.” Cyclists call Mr. Mandrel the “Gold Miner” for all the gold medals filling his trophy case.

Leave a comment