Fatigue Limit #113

Swapping bike stories at the end of the day.

No doubt Mr. Hayden spent a fortune putting on this soirée. I meant to enjoy every minute.

I looked out the window and waited for Mary’s arrival. She showed up wearing a tastefully appointed dress perfect for the occasion. This elite athlete stood out at a party in more ways than one. I relaxed knowing I chose the right apparel.

She broke the awkwardness of being in an unfamiliar place among strangers by introducing me to her friends. She told me Rose would be along in a few minutes. More guests started arriving, their babble of voices generating a lively atmosphere.

When Miss Nilsson entered, heads turned. She dressed for this festive celebration in an elegant beaded gown with gold trim that suited her figure. She coiffed her short hair in curls and added a red-flower broach for decoration. She had transformed herself from a hardened six-day professional into the queen of the ball. Men, and women, locked eyes on this captivating beauty who also handled her bike like a true champion. At her arm, she held John, who wore a tuxedo, spit-polished shiny black shoes, and a felt derby hat.

Mary corralled the local cyclists, and we dived into the crackers and cheese. As hungry riders, we made quick work of the appetizers. No amount of food satisfied our appetite.

We moved on to the bar and ordered drinks. Embarrassed that I didn’t take alcohol, I picked up a glass of wine and drank a sip.

The guests exchanged banal pleasantries over the next hour as they mingled, but the racers had one thought on their minds — the race. Playing cub reporter, I took notes about each of the contestants’ backgrounds for upcoming profiles in the paper. In the evening’s course, I met the competitors and gathered material, as well as contact information.

Leave a comment