Petaluma ride brings back memories

School’s out in Marin County. So much history here.

The last time I rode in the Sonoma County countryside was the year 2000, and the years have not been kind.

When you’re 47 you can still ride strong and the hills don’t slow you down so much. Yesterday once again reminded me that those halcyon days of vim and vigor are a distant memory.

Now it’s a struggle just to ride up a 630-foot climb.

I looked back at the 3rd edition of Bay Area Bike Rides to see what I said. The print editions are missed. I could give a full accounting of the route.

Back in 2000, I had heard enough stories about Chileno Valley Road to know that it deserved a place in a bike tour book. At least that aspect hasn’t changed. This area is still a worthy destination for cyclists.

I started from Helen Putnam Regional Park, an ideal parking location with flush toilets and fountains. There’s a $7 parking fee and electronic payment.

The old Armstrong paved road took me over a hill with a short, steep climb before the cattail pond (20 percent) and then a steep descent where a good set of brakes are mandatory.

After a brief ride in a residential area, I turned right on D Street and enjoyed a wide shoulder heading west. The ocean breeze made for comfortable riding with temps in the mid 70s.

But all that changed after six miles when I began a mile-long climb minus a shoulder, cars speeding by.

The hills of Hicks Valley. Plentiful spring rain kept the hills green this year.

Huh? I didn’t remember this climb. I struggled along to be greeted by a steep descent on a newly oil-graveled road. Another mile passed by before I finally turned onto Hicks Valley Road where the cars didn’t follow.

The one-room school that opened in 1872 is still standing, but it doesn’t look to be in use.

After another climb on Hicks, I dropped down to the Marshall-Petaluma Road junction with Wilson Hill Road. I always wondered about Wilson Hill. Is it steep? I’d soon find out.

Marshall-Petaluma Road is a serene place where the world can be forgotten. You’re alone with your thoughts and you might wonder, as I did, if this is some kind of alternate reality.

The road goes all the way to Hwy 1, but my engine was sputtering so I turned around just past the Soulajule Reservoir turnoff.

A tailwind pushed me back up the valley, and everything seemed right with the world. The engine even smoothed out.

I’ve still got a few more years before the inevitable.

At Wilson Hill Road, I began a climb that I knew was at least 10 percent. That part was right. Maybe it was more than 10 percent in places, but my inclinometer wasn’t cooperating.

The newly tar-graveled road had minimal loose gravel, which was a good thing because the descent was dangerous enough.

Fortunately, recent hard rides gave me some strength for the climb ahead. At the summit, which required concentrated heavy breathing and riding out of the saddle for 0.6 miles, I had to stop and take a picture.

Yes, the view was worth the climb.

After some more rollers on Chileno Valley Road, I made it safely back to the park and thanked my lucky stars. This riding stuff isn’t getting any easier.

With age, the risks accumulate like barnacles on a ship. And those barnacles slow your climbing to a snail’s pace. The mind is willing but the body is not.

I can’t say I enjoyed the experience as much as I did 24 years ago. Age has its benefits, but climbing rolling hills in the wilds of Sonoma and Marin County is not one of them. Enjoy your rides.

A view worth the climb on Wilson Hill.

One Response to “Petaluma ride brings back memories”

  1. jamesRides Says:

    Those rolling hills in Sonoma/North Marin are very deceiving in terms of effort. I rode classic Marin century last August for first time. The route takes you on many of the roads you mentioned. In prior years I rode the Mt. Tam route which had much more elevation. I was expecting the classic route to be easier but I was wrong. The rolling hills wear you out and you are fighting the wind and alternating heat and cool fog. Valley Ford/Franklin School road has a series of 10%+ rollers. But you get to recover only then being met by Marshal Wall (Marshal-Petaluma Rd). I was expecting a steeper grade, but instead of steep it was just long, and the previous rollers already crushed my legs. Its definitely beautiful but deceptively difficult.

Leave a comment