Fatigue Limit #138

Six-day race at Madison Square Garden in the 1930s.

“She’s someone special. We’re getting along fine.”

First my bike and now my love interest. Was there anything Gary didn’t want that I coveted? I swallowed my pride.

“Well, remember, Carl said you’re going to need her help to win. All the better if she likes you beyond the boards.”

“I’m well aware you and Rose are crucial for blocking. Mr. Napp knows how to intimidate. During practice, he passed me and about took my head off.”

“I don’t trust him, Gary. Watch out. He looks down on us from his high-wheeler, like a mountain lion lying in wait.”

“Thanks for the memory.”

“Be careful. See you out there.”

Back at the pit, I needed a knife to cut through hazy air that reeked of cigarettes. Hundreds of butts of rolled tobacco glowed red in the stands, like embers in a fireplace. The smoke would worsen as the day progressed. A troop of children marched in to be seated, led by their teachers. I turned in a circle and saw thousands of spectators on both upper levels. Ground-level seats offered ticket holders the best location close to the track. An arched ceiling at least forty feet high made the arena look more spectacular.

Mr. Hayden stood in the front row beaming at the sprouts. He must have made arrangements for them to fill seats for free. I had no objections seeing kids learn about bicycles and racing. I carefully scanned the audience, hoping to find my parents watching.

Ever since my mother did an about-face and turned me down for paying my entry fee, we hadn’t spoken. Carl bailed me out and now I owed him more than ever. I found Rose preparing her bike. We exchanged greetings and shared our intentions for the first day.

Leave a comment