Predictable riding, and traffic planning, essential for safety

Confusion on Calabazas. Do we want bike lanes crossing traffic lanes?

Confusion on Calabazas. Do we want bike lanes crossing traffic lanes?


A co-worker complained about the bike lanes on Calabazas Boulevard, Santa Clara, so I checked it out, and he was right.

I’m not a traffic engineer, but one of the cardinal rules of road design has been violated here: bikes keep right. Why oh why were the bike lanes put on the far left? Confusion reigns.

As I was stopped at Calabazas northbound at the El Camino Real light a motorist pulled up next to me in his convertible and engaged me in a conversation. He said I was the first rider he had seen using the bike lane on the left. I told him this was an unusual setup, to be sure.

I proceeded on Calabazas, a tree-lined one-way road divided by Calabazas Creek. It felt weird riding on the far left. At intersections I felt uncomfortable, wondering if cars on my left crossing Calabazas would be looking for bikes in this location. On top of this, there’s a weird sign with a car and a red-stripe through it. No cars in this lane. What’s that all about?

The El Camino Real intersections are equally confusing. The green paint shows up in two locations. Am I supposed to be in the far left lane when turning left or the one farther right? And where do cars go?

I made the mistake of being in the left side going south crossing El Camino. The small sign said “bikes left on green only.” I was kind of taking a left to get across to Calabazas, but when the car turning left from Calabazas nearly ran me over, I realized my mistake. Could have been fatal. This is an unusual left turn to begin with. Now it’s downright confusing.

Another oddity is the bike lane crossing Calabazas at an angle as it approaches Pomeroy. What if I’m turning left? It’s all wrong.

The old road alignment (two lanes one way both directions) was fine. The bike lanes were on the right. Now technically they weren’t perfect bike lanes because cars parked on the street take up too much of the lane (open door a hazard), but they could easily have taken out a lane and had parking as well as a bike lane.

Unfortunately the vehicle code (21208) says bikes must use the bike lane, with a few exceptions.

No doubt this street has a fair amount of traffic on weekdays with Wilcox High School nearby.

The city of Santa Clara, which has a bike committee, needs to revisit this road design and get it right: bikes keep right.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 63 other followers

